Weekly Office Travels

I had just completed about three blogs about all things office furniture and healthcare, when I found myself staring longingly at the laminated map my younger sister gave me for Christmas. Sometimes it’s rather difficult to find inspiration to blog– be it about office furniture or about travel, and although I have 4 drafts in my WordPress posts page, sometimes the words just don’t come and I need a new idea or topic to get the creative juices flowing.

That’s when it dawned on me!

When I need a break from work, I, like many gypsy souls, love to research remote places and off-the-beaten-path countries. I love to learn everything about that country: the native language, the primary industry, the cultural things to do, etc. I stare longingly at my map and try to find the most random city, island, or country I can find. I’ve looked up Petropavlovisk, Russia, a small town in the eastern most part of the country, and I’ve learned about the Kerguelen Islands of France located in the Indian Ocean. Every place has a history and a story to tell, and I want to know those stories!

Every traveler has had the dream of spinning the globe and hoping on a plane to wherever your finger lands, or arriving at the airport with nothing but a backpack and your passport and taking the first flight out, but not every traveler has the vacation days or the funds to do it. I, myself, found myself in that very situation when I decided to make my own “pin the passport on the country” game.

The rules:

  • Every Travel Tuesday (aka, Tuesday) I will spin around 5 times in my cube chair with my mini passport!
  • I will then stick it onto my map in my cube
  • What ever country it lands on will be the country of the week!
  • I will then post a blog about that country with anything that I find interesting. Could be pictures, could be places, could be history, could be flight costs, could be anything! The possibilities are endless!
  • You will comment and let me know if you want to go there! And then maybe we can plan a trip?

It may sound cheesy or cliche, but hey, we all have our different ways of surviving cube life, and this is mine! 🙂 So, without further adieu, I give you this week’s Office Travel:

Nauru, Micronesia!  <— click here for this week’s post!

1505523_10151981662407944_2097994438_n

✈,

Adventure On!

6 Comments on “Weekly Office Travels

  1. I hope you don’t mind me as I stare longingly at the picture of a laminated map you used in this post. Because until I graduate this summer, I’m going nowhere lol

    • Hahahaha You are more than welcome to join me in the staring! I’m not going anywhere until this summer either, so I feel your pain! Don’t worry, we shall suffer together! 😛

  2. Pingback: Office Travels: Nauru, Micronesia! | Traveling Kelsey

    • Thank you so much! I’m excited for this week’s! Looks like we’ll be headed to South America, so stay tuned! Us office dwellers have to do something to stay entertained! 🙂

Leave a comment