My Love letter to Philadelphia– the city that made me

Dear Philly,

To the City of Brotherly Love, the birthplace of our modern day nation and the iconic Philly cheesesteak, to the home of the most loyal and ruthless sports fans in the nation and world-renowned symbols of liberty and freedom, to the flourishing neighborhoods of Fairmount, Northern Liberties, and South Philly, the ever-gentrifying ghettos of North and West Philly, and the beautifully charming Olde City, Society Hill and Rittenhouse, and to the place I have been fortunate enough to call home for nearly four years—this is my final tribute to you.

This is my ode—my love letter– to America’s number-one underdog city—the city that made me.

Philly, never once were you on my radar before I decided to attend Temple for my undergrad, but I guess that’s exactly how a good underdog story should start. I’ve always had an affection for a good underdog story, so there is no surprise that I took to you so quickly. Philly, you are that underdog kid; the one that was always overlooked and overshadowed by your larger, more well known neighbors, yet your drive, determination, and grit have inspired and shaped me in ways that many will never understand

Your diversity inspires me. Many of us are not from here and some of us have called the city home since birth, yet when we let you in, it’s as though we are let in on the secret that we don’t want anyone else to know about: that Philadelphia is one of the best cities in America. You attract people from every corner of the USA and from countries all around the globe and inspire them to set up shop, bringing some of their own culture to add to the melting pot. You give us access to all types of cuisines, flavors, cultures and ideals, which has resulted in a booming metropolis and an incredible foodie culture. Philly, you truly don’t have a definitive type of resident, and that is just the way that I like it. You’ve aided in my global journey, enhanced my understanding of the diversity within my own country, and helped me learn to embrace people from every walk of life, all of whom have help mold and change my own. You’ve showed me to take others as they are, because you took me as I once was and made me who I am now, to celebrate what makes us different, and to take pride in being a apart of this truly great underdog story.

Your streets have educated me. You have taught me street smarts, something I will use for the rest of my life. You have taught me to walk tall, that confidence and strength are my biggest asset, and to be aware and vigilant no matter where I go. Most importantly, you have shown me the realities of the modern American society, and have forced me to truly see the very real socioeconomic issues in my country. I can no longer simply turn a blind eye as I once did to the struggle of the inner-city communities who have fallen victim to a broken system, resulting in a cycle rooted in poverty and lack of education. These problems are easy to ignore from the neighborhoods of a suburban community, but they are not when you are thrown in the middle of it all, and they inspire me to want to make a difference.

Your loyalty has invigorated me. From the die-hard sports fans (regardless of weather or winning record) to the dedicated native Philadelphians who believe in this city and have seen it go to hell and back again, Philadelphia inspires loyalty in all who call you home. You may never have financial power found on Wall Street, or the political power found on Embassy Row, but you are our city—the people’s city– and damned to hell anyone who chastises our city, because it may be a shithole, but it’s our shithole. This is the loyalty that will bring this city to the forefront, and it will take this city to new heights. All those who have lived here know better than to bet against you!

Your challenges have shaped me:  Philly is not for the weak. You are rough around the edges, and you tend to throw curveballs at everyone when they least expect it. From you, Philadelphia, I have learned survival, be it surviving merging onto I-76 during rush hour traffic, going through the line outside Jim’s Cheesesteaks on South Street, ordering a beer at Cav’s Riverdeck, or dodging and weaving through the potholes on City Ave. I have learned adaptability; from the rapidly changing weather patterns to the new “Detour” signs scattered during summer construction season. I’ve learned life can be as ruthless as the PPA, as upsetting as a window smashed in just to get a cell phone charger, and as insulting as the asshole cabbie who refuses to take card even though it says right in their cab that they must. However, when you allow it, you’ve shown us that life can be as beautiful as the fall foliage in Society Hill, as blissful as a glass of wine at Parc overlooking Rittenhouse Square, as breath-taking as the lit-up boathouses on Boathouse Row, or as magnificent as the architecture of City Hall.

Your history has enlightened me: Some of the greatest minds and influencers in American history have walked your streets and have been inspired by your character, just I have been. You have been just as integral in my history as you once were in our country’s history, and I have been both humbled and enriched because of it. I have learned that we can’t ignore our historic past, for so much of what was relevant then is still relevant now. Yet, although history is an invaluable part of us all, we should always look to be moving forward to better ourselves and the lives of the people around us just as you, Philadelphia, have done for so many years.

Your grit has shaped me:There is no city that does grit like you, Philly. Your firmness of character and indomitable spirit has shaped me in ways that no other city could have done, and I will forever be thankful for that. Because of you, I have become the person I have always strived to be: confident, independent, individualistic, strong, courageous, and every adjective in between. You have taught me to take shit from no one, and to not apologize to anyone for being exactly who I am. You have taught me to face my opponents and my challengers head on; and to take no prisoners. You have also taught me how to be real. You brought me the realist and most genuine friendships I have ever known; people who I will bring with my in my heart even after I depart.  You have taught me to voice my opinions, to be real myself, and to value realness and honesty in others.

To the city that made me—shaped me– this is for you:

What makes a good city great is not the annual gross domestic output or the championship records of our sports teams, it’s not the political or financial powerhouses, or the over-the-top extravagance of its buildings. It’s not about who has more history or who has the most charming neighborhoods, the number of Michelin star restaurants or five star establishments. What makes a city great is nothing more than its character and the character of the people that live there.

Philly, you’re fast-paced, in-your-face, and a survivor. You are dedicated, you are global, and you don’t subscribe to stereotypes. You slam people down, just to bring them back up stronger and better than they once were, just as history has done to you. You inspire all those who have the pleasure of calling you home, and you surprise those who are fortunate enough to cross your path. You have humbled me, you have enlightened me, you have educated me, you have tested me, you have challenged me, and you have made me who I am today.

So for everything you have given me over the last for years, the friendships, the memories, the lessons, and the love, I thank you. Philadelphia, you will forever have a piece of my heart. I will forever be grateful for the time I have spent here, and I will never forget the lessons that you have taught me about the world, about others, and about myself. I will share your underdog story with the world, and will encourage all those to travel here with an open mind and an open heart, because maybe, they will get the chance to be let in on the secret of Philadelphia. And that one day down the line, when our paths cross again, we will know that we have finally come full circle, and will be able to finally greet each other as old friends.

Thank you for all you have given me,

Kelsey

“Cities were always like people, showing their varying personalities to the traveler. Depending on the city and on the traveler, there might begin a mutual love, or dislike, friendship, or enmity. Where one city will rise a certain individual to glory, it will destroy another who is not suited to its personality. Only through travel can we know where we belong or not, where we are loved and where we are rejected.”

 

Leave a comment